National Estuaries

The map below shows the 299 functional estuarine systems (estuaries) along South Africa’s coastline and focuses on the Present Ecological State (PES) of each estuary. The PES health condition has been categorised as follows: A = Largely unmodified and natural, B = Largely natural with few modifications, C = Moderately modified, D = Largely modified, E = Seriously modified, F = Critically/extremely modified, Z = St Lucia Estuary.

Source: SANBI & CSIR . National Estuaries 2012 [vector geospatial dataset] 2012. Available from the Biodiversity GIS website